top of page
Search

A Tour of Our Lady of the Rosary Cemetery and Prayer Garden

We had the MOST encouraging and beautiful visit at Our Lady of the Rosary Cemetery 330 BERRY LANE GEORGETOWN, TEXAS 78626 We were a group of six - 4 members from St. John’s and 2 members from Transfiguration.

Michelle showed us a gorgeous area of land available to be set aside for Orthodox burials. There are a LOT of plots available. The plots can face East and look up a grassy hill covered with wildflowers. The cemetery is secluded, surrounded by trees and has walking trails and picnic areas and a pond and lots of freedom for planting flowers or plants as desired. The groundskeeper lives on the property with his family and the Williamson County Master Gardeners manage the many perennials and roses, pruning and caring for them throughout the year. More and more wildflower seeds are scattered each year. There are walking trails blooming with wildflowers and bulbs and a beautiful pond with picnic table and chairs nearby.

Our Lady Cemetery stayed open to everyone during the past year when Covid shuttered funeral homes and Churches, they continued to welcome families of any size to bury their loved ones and to perform funerals. Our Lady Cemetery also has a precious area set aside for miscarriages marked with stones engraved with the little lost soul’s name and date. Low lying trees are draped with wind chimes and it is a very sweet area. Another area of the cemetery is set aside for babies older than 20-weeks and up to 3-years...


When we were there, we saw numerous families coming with ice chests and picnic blankets and walking the grounds... it is a very inviting space and so lovingly cared for and with very few restrictions - no cement liners or vaults required - you can even be buried in a shroud only and forego a casket all together if you prefer.


Plots would cost $3,220 and include a perpetual care fee. Payment plans are available. When a plot is completely paid for - the deed of ownership is transferred into the one’s name who has purchased it. It will already be filed with the county at that point. There are no taxes on this property. If we have a large group wanting to purchase plots, Michelle can negotiate a group discount. She could give us a period of 90-days in which to gather commitments, for example. And other “pushes” could be arranged during the coming years. The only restriction in the area we could have set aside for Orthodox burials, is that the markers must be made of white granite or marble... It’s part of the planning design the owners have envisioned. But as I got in my car to leave, I looked up at the green, grassy hill and envisioned a whole cluster of white Orthodox crosses and it was really striking to my mind’s eye. They recommend using specific local company for their monuments- Riley Gardner Memorial: http://rileygardnerofaustin.com/ I reached out already through email to this company and sent them an image of a white stone Orthodox cross I found online - asking him for an estimated cost. - Something like the middle white one? Steve Gilbert - 512-524-1578 is my contact there and he is currently collecting estimates for this kind of design.

While headstones are being ordered (or saved up for) the owner of the cemetery (a master blacksmith) and his son, make and install lovely metal crosses over graves so they don’t lie bare in the meantime. I think it wouldn’t be too hard to add a third bar to the crosses he makes to mark Orthodox graves awaiting headstones.

I was just so very taken with this space. It is a space that celebrates the sanctity of human life and supports families. I felt very much at peace there. When my car starts, my phone just randomly plays anything from my Apple Music library through the Bluetooth - sometimes it’s Classical, sometimes it’s Dolly Parton, sometimes it’s Mister Rogers, sometimes it’s Christmas (?) and sometimes it’s Orthodox... when I got into my car to leave the cemetery- not only was it Orthodox... but it was a hymn speaking about the Myrrhbearing women! Here is the screenshot from my phone.


And as I drove out, a beautiful cardinal swept in front of my window and perched on a tree right alongside my car... I was too taken by it to get a picture, but it brought joy to my heart. This ministry is bringing so much joy to me. I am so happy to be working alongside each of you.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page